Bronx Borough President Ruben Diaz Jr. has issued a letter, in conjunction with over 100 elected officials from across the nation, demanding immediate action from Congress to enact legislation that will allow the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico to enter bankruptcy.

The letter can be read here:

“The interests of the Puerto Rican community, whether they are in Puerto Rico, New York, New Jersey, California, Illinois, Pennsylvania, Ohio, Florida or anywhere else are American interests.  Congress has an obligation to act and pass legislation that seeks to amend the Federal bankruptcy code and provide Puerto Rico, and its related power authorities and municipalities, access to Chapter Nine Bankruptcy protections,” states the letter.

The magnitude of debt owed by the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico and its associated debt issuing authorities is at a critical juncture. Congress’ failure to address this crisis presents a substantial threat not only to the economy of Puerto Rico, but the United States economy as a whole.

“I am appreciative that so many elected officials from across the United States understand the need for federal action to address Puerto Rico’s ongoing debt crisis and were willing to join forces with my office to push Congress on this issue,” said Borough President Diaz. “I will continue to work with my colleagues to advocate for a remedy to the crushing fiscal crisis facing the commonwealth.”

List of elected officials signing the letter:

Bronx Borough President Ruben Diaz Jr.
NYS Assembly Speaker Carl E. Heastie
NYS Senator Jeffrey Klein
NYC Council Speaker Melissa Mark-Viverito
NYC Council Majority Leader Jimmy Van Bramer
Brooklyn Borough President Eric Adams
Manhattan Borough President Gale Brewer
Queens Borough President Melinda Katz
Hudson County NJ Board of Chosen Freeholders Chairman E. Junior Maldonado Chairman
Mayor of Hartford, CT Pedro E. Segarra
Mayor of Yonkers, NY Mike Spano
Mayor of Middletown, CT Dan Drew
Mayor of New London, CT Justin Finizio
Mayor of Paterson, NJ Jose ‘Joey’ Torres
NYS Senator Tony Avella
NYS Senator David Carlucci
NYS Senator Leroy Comrie
NYS Senator Rev. Ruben Diaz
NYS Senator Martin Dilan
NYS Senator Adriano Espaillat
NYS Senator Michael Gianaris
NYS Senator Jesse Hamilton
NYS Senator Ruth Hassell-Thompson
NYS Senator Brad Hoylman
NYS Senator Liz Krueger
NYS Senator Velmanette Montgomery
NYS Senator Kevin Parker
NYS Senator Jose Peralta
NYS Senator Bill Perkins
NYS Senator Gustavo Rivera
NYS Senator Diane Savino
NYS Senator Jose M. Serrano
NYS Senator Toby Stavisky
NJS Senator Nilsa Cruz-Perez
NJS Senator Nellie Pou
NJS Senator M. Teresa Ruiz
Florida State Senator Darren Soto
NYS Assembly Member Thomas J. Abinanti
NYS Assembly Member Carmen Arroyo
NYS Assembly Member Michael Blake
NYS Assembly Member Michael Benedetto
NYS Assembly Member Marcos Crespo
NYS Assembly Member Maritza Davilla
NYS Assembly Member Michael DenDekker
NYS Assembly Member Erik Dilan
NYS Assembly Member Jeffrey Dinowitz
NYS Assembly Member Herman D. Farrell
NYS Assembly Member Mark Gjonaj
NYS Assembly Member Deborah Glick
NYS Assembly Member Richard Gottfried
NYS Assembly Member Latoya Joyner
NYS Assembly Member Brian Kavanagh
NYS Assembly Member Charles Lavine
NYS Assembly Member Guillermo Linares
NYS Assembly Member Shelley Mayer
NYS Assembly Member Walter T. Mosley
NYS Assembly Member Francisco Moya
NYS Assembly Member Felix Ortiz
NYS Assembly Member Amy Paulin
NYS Assembly Member Victor Pichardo
NYS Assembly Member Diana Richardson
NYS Assembly Member Jose Rivera
NYS Assembly Member Annette Robinson
NYS Assembly Member Robert Rodriguez
NYS Assembly Member Linda Rosenthal
NYS Assembly Member Rebecca Seawright
NYS Assembly Member Luis Sepulveda
NYS Assembly Member Michael Simanowitz
NYS Assembly Member Jo Anne Simon
NYS Assembly Member Aravella Simotas
NYS Assembly Member Michaelle C. Solages
NYS Assembly Member Matthew Titone
NYS Assembly Member David Weprin
NYS Assembly Member Keith Wright
Connecticut Representative Angel Arce
Connecticut Representative Juan Candelaria
Connecticut Representative Matt Lesser
Connecticut Representative Jason Rojas
Connecticut Representative Christopher Rosario
Connecticut Representative Edwin Vargas
NJ Assembly Member Carmelo Garcia
NJ Assembly Member Raj Mukherji
NJ Assembly Member Annette Quijano
Massachusetts State Representative Marcos Devers
Massachusetts State Representative Carlos Gonzalez
NYC Council Member Maria del Carmen Arroyo
NYC Council Member Fernando Cabrera
NYC Council Member Andrew Cohen
NYC Council Member Costa Constantinides
NYC Council Member Laurie Cumbo
NYC Council Member Inez Dickens
NYC Council Member Daniel Dromm
NYC Council Member Rafael Espinal
NYC Council Member Julissa Ferreras-Copeland
NYC Council Member Dan Garodnick
NYC Council Member Vanessa Gibson
NYC Council Member Corey Johnson
NYC Council Member Andrew King
NYC Council Member Karen Koslowitz
NYC Council Member Rory Lancman
NYC Council Member Brad Lander
NYC Council Member Stephen Levin
NYC Council Member Mark Levine
NYC Council Member Alan Maisel
NYC Council Member Carlos Menchaca
NYC Council Member Rosie Mendez
NYC Council Member I. Daneek Miller
NYC Council Member Annabel Palma
NYC Council Member Antonio Reynoso
NYC Council Member Donovan Richards
NYC Council Member Ydanis Rodriguez
NYC Council Member Helen Rosenthal
NYC Council Member Ritchie Torres
NYC Council Member James Vacca
NYC Council Member Jumaane Williams
Detroit City Council Member Raquel Castaneda-Lopez
Philadelphia Council Member Maria Quinones Sanchez
Philadelphia Council Member Blondell Reynolds Brown