FreshDirect recognized by the Environmental Protection Agency for investments in technologies to significantly reduce its carbon footprint throughout the Northeast.

New York, N.Y. (November 5, 2015) – FreshDirect has been named winner of the 2015 Northeast Diesel Collaborative (NEDC) Breathe Easy Leadership Award by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) for its efforts to significantly reduce diesel emissions and promote clean transportation in the Northeast.

Over the past two years FreshDirect has made significant investments in new technologies to reduce its carbon footprint including purchasing all-electric, hybrid-electric, and clean diesel vehicles. Now serving communities in New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, and Connecticut, FreshDirect is being applauded for its aggressive actions to move its fleet to clean diesel and alternative fuel based vehicles.

“We are thrilled to accept the NEDC Breathe Easy Leadership Award,” said Jason Ackerman, co-founder and CEO of FreshDirect. “We work hard to reduce our impact on the environment, and we will continue to support and encourage the industry’s exploration of more efficient and environmentally-friendly options for transporting high quality fresh food.”

“When FreshDirect announced that they wanted to move their headquarters to The Bronx, we worked closely with their management regarding community concerns, especially on the environment,” said Ruben Diaz Jr., Bronx Borough President. “The NEDC Breathe Easy Leadership Award from the EPA shows that FreshDirect is serious about being a good neighbor and upholding the commitments they made, and that the Obama Administration recognizes those achievements.”

Representatives from FreshDirect were invited to the EPA NEDC 2015 Partner’s Meeting to accept the award and engage with industry and government leaders in discussions about ways to achieve cleaner, more sustainable, and efficient transportation throughout the Northeast.

FreshDirect’s application received the highest number of points out of all eight award recipients.