The Education unit of the office of Bronx Borough President Ruben Diaz Jr. aids students, families, educators and others in attaining educational resources necessary to improve their learning environment. This unit, along with Borough President Diaz, his appointees to the Community Education Councils (CEC) and his appointee to the Panel for Educational Policy reviews educational policy issues and concerns regarding Bronx School Districts 7 through 12.

Panel for Education Policy

The Panel for Educational Policy (PEP) is the governance body for the Department of Education. The PEP consists of 13 appointed members and the Chancellor. Each borough president appoints one member and the mayor appoints the remaining eight. The Chancellor serves as an ex-officio non-voting member. Robert Powell serves as the Bronx representative on the Panel for Educational Policy, having been appointed by the Bronx Borough President's Office in December 2012. For more information see:

Panel for Educational Policy
52 Chambers Street
New York NY 10007
212-374-5038 (Phone)
212-374-5588 (Fax)

Contact information:

Geneal Chaconl
851 Grand Concourse
Room 206
Bronx, N.Y. 10451
Phone: (718) 590-6012 Fax: (718) 590-4690

The borough president has also created five education consortia – Early Childhood, Elementary, Middle, High School and Higher Education . This allows educators and parents to network, share resources and work on policy concerns.

Community Education Councils

There are 32 Community Education Councils (CECs) in New York City. Each CEC represents a Community School District that includes public elementary, intermediate and junior high schools. Additionally, there are four Citywide Education Councils that advocate on behalf of high school students, English Language Learners (ELL), and special education students (District 75 council and the Citywide Council on Special Education). All Community and Citywide Education Council members are selected for two-year terms by the Parent Associations or Parent-Teacher Associations (PA/PTAs) of the schools in their district.

Each CEC has 12 members, including nine parents selected by the district's PA/PTAs, two members appointed by the Borough President and one student member selected by the Community Superintendent.

If you have any additional questions about the Community Education Councils, feel free to contact the Office for Family and Community Engagement at (212) 374-4118 or

Borough President Diaz has appointed education advocates to the Community Education Councils (CEC). The Bronx Borough President’s Appointees for 2013-2015:

District 7: Tracy Woodall and Hakiem Yahmadi
District 8: Tony L. Gardner and Gheri Kaufman
District 9: Mario Benabe and Josephine Ofili
District 10: Steven Francisco and Lizzette B. Ritz
District 11: Joscelyn T. Mahon and Nancy Kheck
District 12: Dupartie Budhram

If you would like additional information on getting involved with your local Community Education Council, contact:

Monica Major
Director of Education and Youth
851 Grand Concourse
Room 206
Bronx, NY 10451
Phone: (718) 590-3515
Fax: (718) 590-4690

There is a Community Education Council (CEC) office located in each of the school districts:

CEC Offices

District 7
501 Courtlandt Ave
Bronx, NY 10451

District 8
1230 Zerega Ave
Bronx, NY 10462

District 9
250 East 164st
Bronx, NY 10456

District 10
One Fordham Plaza
Bronx, NY 10458

District 11
1250 Arnow Ave
Bronx, NY 10469

District 12
1434 Longfellow Ave
Bronx, NY 10459

Important Contacts

Bronx Borough President Ruben Diaz Jr.'s Office has compiled information about schools and education, tailored to the needs of Bronx residents. Find contact information for the Department of Education, after school programs, continuing education and much more.