The Office of Borough President

The Borough President works with the Mayor to prepare the annual executive budget submitted to the City Council, reviews and comments on major land use projects, and proposes sites for City facilities within his jurisdiction. The Borough President also monitors the administration of City services and engages in strategic planning for the economic development of the borough. He appoints a representative to the New York City Board of Education and the New York City Planning Commission. The Borough President also appoints the members of the Community Boards and is the Chairperson of both the Borough Board and the Borough Services Cabinet. Among other distinctions, the Borough President sits on the New York City Off-Track Betting Site Selection Board, and is a trustee of the New York City Employees' Retirement System. The Borough President's Office also houses the Borough's Topographical Bureau, which is responsible for maintaining the borough's official maps, and assigning street addresses.


Past Bronx Borough Presidents

Louis F. Haffen (1898 – 1909)

John F. Murray (1909- 1910)

Cyrus C. Miller (1910 – 1914)

Douglas Mathewson (1914 – 1918)

Henry Bruckner (1918 – 1934)

James J. Lyons (1934 - 1962)

Joseph F. Periconi (1962 – 1966)

Herman Badillo (1966 – 1970)

Robert Abrams (1970 – 1979)

Stanley Simon (1979 - 1987)

Fernando Ferrer (1987 – 2002)

Adolfo Carrión, Jr. (2002 – 2009)